Today’s the day!

Exercise your democratic right - and vote

Today is the only day Londoners can vote at polling stations across the capital for the Mayor of London and London Assembly. [1]

The next opportunity is three years away. 

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm and if you’re in the queue at 10pm, you will be able to vote.

The massive job of counting the votes starts tomorrow at 9am and continues on Saturday at 8am.  The count is taking place at three count centres in the capital - Olympia, Alexandra Palace, ExCel. 

The progress of the count can be followed on

How to vote

  • In this election, there are three ballot papers and four votes.
  • Two votes for the Assembly elections and a first and second choice for the Mayoral election.
  • You must make a first choice for the Mayor, or your vote won’t be counted. Each vote must be for a different candidate.
  • Your polling station will be open from 7am until 10pm on election day. 
  • Your polling card includes details of your named polling station.
  • You can also vote by emergency proxy. This is when a person you trust votes for your chosen candidates on your behalf if you are unable to make it to the polling station. The deadline to apply for a proxy vote as a result of an emergency is 5pm, Thursday 6 May 2021.

For more information please contact the London Elects media office

London Elects Head of Media:

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall

[email protected]   

Follow us on Twitter @londonelects

Notes to editors

  1. London Elects is responsible – under the direction of the Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO) – for overseeing and encouraging participation in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections.
  2. As of 1 March 2021, there were 6,047,327 registered voters in Greater London.
  3. To find out more, visit:
  4. Link to 2016 results