100 days to a very different London election

Important changes to the way Londoners elect their leaders

One hundred days from today - on Thursday 2 May - Londoners go to the polls to elect a Mayor of London and 25 London Assembly Members. [1] 

This year, London’s elections will be different in two distinct ways:

  1. Voters will need to take photo identification to the polling station to vote.
  2. There will only be one vote for the Mayor of London, when in the past there has been a first and second preference vote.

Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO), Mary Harpley said:

"This election will be different in a couple of important ways.

"Firstly, voters will need to produce identification to take part in the democratic process.  And secondly, the system for electing the Mayor has been changed. In past elections voters could vote for a first and second preference, this time, they will only get one vote.

"We look forward to running another fair and efficient election in partnership with the London boroughs, to allow London's over 6 million voters to have their say on 2 May."

  • Verification of the number of ballot papers will take place on Friday 3 May. [2]
  • Votes for each of the three ballot papers will be counted on Saturday 4 May.
  • All three counts and Constituency declarations for London Assembly Members will take place at nine venues:
    • Alexandra Palace - (Barnet and Camden), (Enfield and Haringey)
    • ExCel - (Bexley and Bromley), (City and East), (Croydon and Sutton), (Greenwich and Lewisham), (Havering and Redbridge)
    • Harrow Leisure Centre - (Brent and Harrow)
    • Marquee, Walpole Park - (Ealing and Hillingdon)
    • Oval Cricket Ground - (Lambeth and Southwark)
    • Westway Sports and Fitness Centre - (Merton and Wandsworth)
    • Copper Box Arena - (North East)
    • St Mary’s University, Twickenham - (South West)
    • Olympia - (West Central)
  • Vote progress on website

Important dates: These dates apply to both the Mayor and the London Assembly.

Pre-election period: 19 March 2024

Nominations: 19 March – 27 March 2024

Candidates announced: No later than 4pm on Tuesday 2 April 2024

Voting: Thursday 2 May 2024 (polling stations open from 7am to 10pm)

Count commences: Saturday 4 May 2024 from 9am

The last day to register to vote in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections is 16 April 2024.

For more information, please contact the London Elects media office.

London Elects Head of Media

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall

Notes to editors

  1. This unique form of local government represents the interests of London and Londoners. London has one Mayor and 25 Assembly Members. The Mayor of London is responsible for running the city, from policing and housing to environment and transport. The Assembly keeps a check on the Mayor’s work and investigates issues that matter to Londoners.
  2. In the event a General Election is also held on 2 May, counting for the London Elections will be delayed by 24 hours and will commence on Sunday 5 May.
  3. Link to the forms of acceptable photo-ID
  4. How to complete the ballot papers
  5. Ballot paper mock ups
  6. Link to 2021 results