

# 2004 election results for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly

## The 2004 Mayor of London election results

If there are only two candidates, the Mayor of London is elected using the First Past the Post system. The candidate with the most votes wins.

If there are three or more candidates running for Mayor, the Supplementary Vote system is used to ensure the candidate with the broadest amount of support from London is elected. In this system, voters can cast a first and second choice vote.

If a candidate receives more than half of all the first choice votes they are elected. If this does not happen, the top two candidates with the most first choice votes go through to a second round. All other candidates are eliminated, but the second choice votes on their ballot papers are looked at. If they are for either of the top two candidates, these second choices are added to their totals. The candidate with the highest total of first and second choice votes wins. If there is a tie then the Greater London Returning Officer draws lots.

Name	Party	1st choice*	% 1st choice	2nd choice*	Final total
Ken Livingstone	Labour Party	685,548	36.78	142,842	828,390
Steve Norris	Conservative Party	542,423	29.10	124,757	667,180
Simon Hughes	Liberal Democrats	284,647	15.27		
Frank Maloney	UK Independence Party	115,666	6.21		
Lindsey German	Respect	61,731	3.31		
Julian Leppert	British National Party	58,407	3.13		
Darren Johnson	Green Party	57,332	3.08		
Ram Gidoomal	Christian Peoples Alliance	41,698	2.24		
Lorna Reid	Independent Working Class Association	9,542	0.51		
Tammy Nagalingam	Independent	6,692	0.36		

<sup>\*</sup> These numbers reflect the number of valid votes and do not include those ballot papers which were spoilt.

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

# **2004 Constituency Assembly results**

The 14 Constituency Assembly Members are elected using the First Past the Post system, so that the candidate in each constituency with the most votes is elected. If there is a tie, the Constituency Returning Officer draws lots to choose the winner.

Constituency	Candidate	Party
Barnet & Camden	Brian Coleman	Conservative Party
Bexley & Bromley	Robert Neill	Conservative Party
Brent & Harrow	Robert Blackman	Conservative Party
City & East	John Biggs	Labour Party
Croydon & Sutton	Andrew Pelling	Conservative Party
Ealing & Hillingdon	Richard Barnes	Conservative Party
Enfield & Haringey	Joanne McCartney	Labour Party
Greenwich & Lewisham	Leonard Duvall	Labour Party
Havering & Redbridge	Roger Evans	Conservative Party
Lambeth & Southwark	Valerie Shawcross	Labour Party
Merton & Wandsworth	Elizabeth Howlett	Conservative Party
North East	Jennette Arnold	Labour Party
South West	Tony Arbour	Conservative Party
West Central	Angela Bray	Conservative Party

#### **2004 London-wide Assembly Member votes**

To allocate the London-wide Assembly Member seats, the Modified d'Hondt Formula is used, which takes into account all of the votes cast in the London-wide and Constituency Assembly Member contests.

To be included in this calculation, each political party or independent candidate must receive five per cent of the total number of London-wide votes cast, or they are eliminated. The below calculation is then carried out for each party, for each of the 11 seats. The party with the highest result at each round is allocated the seat.

Total number of votes won

Seats already won (including constituency seats) + 1

The parties allocate the seats they have won to the candidates in the order they appear on their nomination list.

Political party	Number of London- wide votes	% of London- wide votes	Included in seat allocation? (Do they have more than 5% of the vote?)	Number of constituency seats won
Alliance for Diversity in Community, Uppal	4,968	0.27%	×	0
British National Party	90,365	4.82%	×	0
Christian Peoples Alliance	54,914	2.93%	×	0
Conservative Party	533,696	28.49%	✓	9
Green Party	160,445	8.57%	✓	0
Labour Party	468,247	25.00%	✓	5
Liberal Democrat	316,218	16.88%	✓	0
Respect	87,533	4.67%	×	0
UK Independence Party	156,780	8.37%	✓	0

London Elects City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

2004 London-wide Assembly Member seat allocation

Seat	Conservative Party	Green Party	Labour Party	Liberal Democrat	UK Independence	Winner
				(Lib Dem)	Party (UKIP)	
Seat 1	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Lib Dem
	(9+1) =	(0+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(0+1) =	(0+1) =	
	53,370	160,445	78,041	316,218	156,780	
Seat 2	533,696 / (9+1) =	160,445 / (0+1) =	468,247 / (5+1) =	316,218 / (1+1) =	156,780 / (0+1) =	Green Party
	(9+1) =	(0+1) =	/ (3+1) –	(1+1) =	(0+1) =	raity
	53,370	160,445	78,041	159,109	156,780	
Seat 3	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Lib Dem
	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(1+1) =	(0+1) =	
	53,370	80,223	78,041	159,109	156,780	
Seat 4	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	UKIP
	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(2+1) =	(0+1) =	
	53,370	80,223	78,041	105,406	156,780	
Seat 5	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Lib Dem
	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(2+1) =	(1+1) =	
_	53,370	80,223	78,041	105,406	78,390	_
Seat 6	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Green
	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(3+1) =	(1+1) =	
	53,370	80,223	78,041	79,055	78,390	
Seat 7	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Lib Dem
	(9+1) =	(2+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(3+1) =	(1+1) =	
	53,370	53,482	78,041	79,055	78,390	
Seat 8	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	UKIP
	(9+1) =	(2+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(4+1) =	(1+1) =	
	53,370	53,482	78,041	63,244	78,390	
Seat 9	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Labour
	(9+1) =	(2+1) =	/ (5+1) =	(4+1) =	(2+1) =	
	53,370	53,482	78,041	63,244	52,260	
Seat 10	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Labour
	(9+1) =	(2+1) =	/ (6+1) =	(4+1) =	(2+1) =	
	53,370	53,482	66,892	63,244	52,260	
Seat 11	533,696 /	160,445 /	468,247	316,218 /	156,780 /	Lib Dem
	(9+1) =	(2+1) =	/ (7+1) =	(4+1) =	(2+1) =	
	53,370	53,482	58,531	63,244	52,260	
Total seats	0	2	2	5	2	

London Elects City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

# **2004 London-wide Assembly Members elected**

Seat	Party	Candidate
Seat 1	Liberal Democrat	Lynne Featherstone
Seat 2	Green Party	Jenny Jones
Seat 3	Liberal Democrat	Graham Tope
Seat 4	UK Independence Party	Nicholas Hockney
Seat 5	Liberal Democrat	Sally Hamwee
Seat 6	Green Party	Darren Johnson
Seat 7	Liberal Democrat	Mike Tuffrey
Seat 8	UK Independence Party	Peter Cross
Seat 9	Labour Party	Nicky Gavron
Seat 10	Labour Party	Murad Qureshi
Seat 11	Liberal Democrat	Dee Doocey

### **Overall London Assembly 2004 result**

Party	Seats	Gain / Loss (from 2000 election)
Conservative Party	9	0
Labour Party	7	-2
Liberal Democrat	5	+1
Green Party	2	-1
UK Independence Party	2	+2