

2012 election results for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly

The 2012 Mayor of London election results

If there are only two candidates, the Mayor of London is elected using the First Past the Post system. The candidate with the most votes wins.

If there are three or more candidates running for Mayor, the Supplementary Vote system is used to ensure the candidate with the broadest amount of support from London is elected. In this system, voters can cast a first and second choice vote.

If a candidate receives more than half of all the first choice votes they are elected. If this does not happen, the top two candidates with the most first choice votes go through to a second round. All other candidates are eliminated, but the second choice votes on their ballot papers are looked at. If they are for either of the top two candidates, these second choices are added to their totals. The candidate with the highest total of first and second choice votes wins. If there is a tie then the Greater London Returning Officer draws lots.

Name	Party	1st choice*	% 1st choice	2nd choice*	Final total
Boris Johnson	Conservative Party	971,931	44.01	82,880	1,054,811
Ken Livingstone	Labour Party	889,918	40.30	102,355	992.273
Jenny Jones	Green Party	98,913	4.48		
Brian Paddick	Liberal Democrats	91,774	4.16		
Siobhan Benita	Independent	83,914	3.80		
Lawrence Webb	UK Independence Party	43,274	1.96		
Carlos Cortglia	British National Party	28,751	1.30		

^{*} These numbers reflect the number of valid votes and do not include those ballot papers which were spoilt.

2012 Constituency Assembly results

The 14 Constituency Assembly Members are elected using the First Past the Post system, so that the candidate in each constituency with the most votes is elected. If there is a tie, the Constituency Returning Officer draws lots to choose the winner.

Constituency	Candidate	Party
Barnet & Camden	Andrew Dismore	Labour Party
Bexley & Bromley	James Cleverly	Conservative Party
Brent & Harrow	Navin Shah	Labour Party
City & East	John Biggs	Labour Party
Croydon & Sutton	Stephen O'Connell	Conservative Party
Ealing & Hillingdon	Onkar Sahota	Labour Party
Enfield & Haringey	Joanne McCartney	Labour Party
Greenwich & Lewisham	Len Duvall	Labour Party
Havering & Redbridge	Roger Evans	Conservative Party
Lambeth & Southwark	Val Shawcross	Labour Party
Merton & Wandsworth	Richard Tracey	Conservative Party
North East	Jennette Arnold	Labour Party
South West	Tony Arbour	Conservative Party
West Central	Kit Malthouse	Conservative Party

2012 London-wide Assembly Member votes

To allocate the London-wide Assembly Member seats, the Modified d'Hondt Formula is used, which takes into account all of the votes cast in the London-wide and Constituency Assembly Member contests. To be included in this calculation, each political party or independent candidate must receive five per cent of the total number of London-wide votes cast, or they are eliminated. The below calculation is then carried out for each party, for each of the 11 seats. The party with the highest result at each round is allocated the seat.

Total number of votes won	
Seats already won (including constituency seats) +	- 1

The parties allocate the seats they have won to the candidates in the order they appear on their nomination list.

Political party	Number of London- wide votes	% of London- wide votes	Included in seat allocation? (Do they have more than 5% of the vote?)	Number of constituency seats won
British National Party	47,024	2.12	×	0
Christian Peoples Alliance	38,758	1.75	×	0
Conservative Party	708,528	31.99	✓	6
English Democrats	22,025	0.99	×	0
Green Party	189,215	8.54	✓	0
Labour Party	911,204	41.14	✓	8
London Liberal Democrats	150,447	6.79	✓	0
National Front Putting Londoners First	8,006	0.36	×	0
The House Party – Homes for Londoners	8,126	0.37	×	0
Trade Unionist & Socialist Party	17,686	0.80	×	0
UK Independence Party	100,040	4.52	×	0
Rathy Alagaratnam	4,835	0.22	×	0
ljaz Hayat	9,114	0.41	*	0

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

2012 London-wide Assembly Member seat allocation

Seat	Conservative Party	Green Party	Labour Party	London Liberal Democrats	Winner
Seat	708,528/ (6+1)	189,215/ (0+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Green Party
1	=	=	(8+1) =	(0+1) =	Green Faity
	101,218.29	189,215	101,244.89	150,447	
Seat	708,528/ (6+1)	189,215/ (1+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Liberal
2	=	=	(8+1) =	(0+1) =	Democrats
	101,218.29	94,607.50	101,244.89	150,447	
Seat	708,528/ (6+1)	189,215/ (1+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Labour Party
3	=	=	(8+1) =	(1+1) =	
	101,218.29	94,607.50	101,244.89	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (6+1)	189,215/ (1+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Conservative
4	=	=	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	Party
	101,218.29	94,607.50	91,120.40	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (7+1)	189,215/ (1+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Green Party
5	=	=	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	
	88,566.00	94,607.50	91,120.40	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (7+1)	189,215/ (2+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Labour Party
6	=	=	(9+1) =	(1+1) =	
	88,566.00	63,071.67	91,120.40	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (7+1)	189,215/ (2+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Conservative
7	=	=	(10+1) =	(1+1) =	Party
	88,566.00	63,071.67	82,836.73	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (8+1)	189,215/ (2+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Labour Party
8	=	=	(10+1) =	(1+1) =	
	78,725.33	63,071.67	82,836.73	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (8+1)	189,215/ (2+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Conservative
9	=	=	(11+1) =	(1+1) =	Party
	78,725.33	63,071.67	75,933.67	75,223.50	
Seat	708,528/ (9+1)	189,215/ (2+1)	911,204 /	150,447 /	Labour Party
10	=	=	(11+1) =	(1+1) =	
	70,852.80	63,071.67	75,933.67	75,223.50	
Seat 11	708,528/ (9+1) =	189,215/ (2+1) =	911,204 / (12+1) =	150,447 / (1+1) =	London Liberal Democrats
	70,852.80	63,071.67	70,092.62	75,223.50	Domodiala
Total seats	3	2	4	2	
554.5					

2012 London-wide Assembly Members elected

Seat	Party	Candidate
Seat 1	Green Party	Jenny Jones
Seat 2	Liberal Democrats	Caroline Pidgeon
Seat 3	Labour Party	Nicky Gavron
Seat 4	Conservative Party	Andrew Boff
Seat 5	Green Party	Darren Johnson
Seat 6	Labour Party	Murad Qureshi
Seat 7	Conservative Party	Gareth Bacon
Seat 8	Labour Party	Fiona Twycross
Seat 9	Conservative Party	Victoria Borwick
Seat 10	Labour Party	Tom Copley
Seat 11	London Liberal Democrats	Stephen Knight

Overall London Assembly 2012 result

Party	Seats	Gain / Loss (from 2008 election)
British National Party	0	-1
Conservative Party	9	-2
Green Party	2	0
Labour Party	12	+4
Liberal Democrats	2	-1