Safety first for vote counting in London elections

A two-day count is confirmed for the 6 May polls

The Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO), Mary Harpley has today confirmed that the count for the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections on 6 May, will be spread over two days.

The extra time is to ensure the safety of everyone in attendance at the Count Centres and to adhere to social distancing requirements. Which constituencies will be counted on which days have also be confirmed, along with count start times.

Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO), Mary Harpley said: 'COVID-19 has moved the goalposts. Everyone has had to consider different ways of doing things and elections are no exception. Indeed, these elections have already been postponed for 12 months. 

'With social distancing restrictions, we are therefore splitting the count over two days.

'We rely on hundreds of people from every London Borough to deliver these elections and we must provide a secure environment in which to work, as they enable the democratic process. 

'In fact, the full range of people involved in these elections, including observers, candidates, agents and venue staff must be considered in our safety plans.

'We will tell Londoners who their new Mayor and London Assembly Members are, as quickly as possible – but votes need to be counted safely and accurately.'

The constituencies to be counted on Friday are:

  • Bexley & Bromley at Excel
  • Brent & Harrow at Alexandra Palace
  • Ealing & Hillingdon at Olympia
  • Havering & Redbridge at Excel
  • Lambeth & Southwark at Excel
  • North East at Alexandra Palace
  • West Central at Olympia

The constituencies to be counted on Saturday are:

  • Barnet & Camden at Alexandra Palace
  • City & East at Excel
  • Croydon & Sutton at Olympia
  • Enfield & Haringey at Alexandra Palace
  • Greenwich & Lewisham at Excel
  • Merton & Wandsworth at Olympia
  • South West at Olympia



The count begins on Friday 7 May at 9 am. It continues on Saturday 8 May at 8am.

Declarations will only be made once all votes have been counted and verified.

Constituency declarations to be made at count centres: Olympia, Alexandra Palace, Excel.

Media centre & declaration of Mayoral & London wide Assembly Member results at City Hall.

Vote progress on website.

London Elects running central accreditation for all counts - online accreditation is now open.


Important dates:

These dates apply to both the Mayor and the London Assembly.

Pre-election period: 22 March 2021
Nominations: 22 March – 30 March 2021
Candidates announced: 1 April 2021 (latest) 
Voting: Thursday 6 May 2021 (polling stations open from 7am to 10pm)
Count commences: Friday 7 May 2021

The last day to register to vote in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections is 19 April 2021.

First Media briefing via Microsoft Teams - Tuesday 16 March, 11am-12.30pm. COVID measures
Second Media via Microsoft Teams – Tuesday 23 March, 11am-12.30pm. With Electoral Commission
Third Media briefing at City Hall – Wednesday 14 April, 11am-1pm. Technical

For more information please contact the London Elects media office

London Elects Head of Media:

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall
[email protected]    
Follow us on Twitter @londonelects

Notes to editors:

1. This unique form of local government represents the interests of London and Londoners. London has one Mayor and 25 Assembly Members. The Mayor of London is responsible for running the city, from policing and housing to environment and transport. The Assembly keeps a check on the Mayor’s work and investigates issues that matter to Londoners.

2. London’s elections are unique. There are 4 votes, 3 ballot papers and 3 voting systems.  

3. Electronic vote counting machines are used to count over 12 million ballot papers.

4. To find out more, visit:

5. Link to 2016 results