Record number of Mayoral candidates

Official list of Mayor of London candidates for 2021 elections

20 candidates will stand for the office of Mayor of London for the next three years.

•    The full list of Mayoral candidates is below.
•    The full list of London-wide Assembly Members will be published by London Elects shortly.
•    The full list of Constituency Assembly Members will be announced by the relevant Constituency Returning Officers.  
•    The complete list of all Mayoral and London Assembly candidates will be published together on the London Elects website as soon as they are all available.
The candidates standing for the Mayor of London (in the order they’ll appear on the ballot paper and with their chosen party or independent description) are:

BAILEY Shaun            Conservative Party Candidate
BALAYEV Kam            Renew
BERRY Sian             Green Party
BINFACE Count        Count Binface for Mayor of London
BROWN Valerie        The Burning Pink Party
CORBYN Piers            Let London Live
FOSH Max            Independent
FOX Laurence            The Reclaim Party
GAMMONS Peter        UKIP
HEWISON Richard        Rejoin EU 
HUDSON Vanessa        Animal Welfare Party – People, Animals, Environment
KELLEHER Steve        Social Democratic Party
KHAN Sadiq            Labour Party
KURTEN David            Heritage Party
LONDON Farah        Independent
OBUNGE Nims            Independent    
OMILANA Niko         Independent
PORRITT Luisa            Liberal Democrats
REID Mandu            Vote Women’s Equality Party on orange
ROSE Brian            London Real Party

Greater London Returning Officer, Mary Harpley, said: 
“The Mayor and the London Assembly hold important and powerful roles. The winning Mayoral candidate will be responsible for issues that affect every Londoner – from transport and policing, to housing and the environment. 2016 saw a then-record number of 12 Mayoral candidates.  This year, there will be 20, the largest number yet.

“It’s up to Londoners to make a decision on who will run the capital for the next three years.  Our website tells you everything you need to know about these elections and what the Mayor and London Assembly Members are responsible for. Remember also to look out for the booklet coming through your letter box in April.” 

Voters will receive three ballot papers when they go to vote: one for the Mayor, one for the London-wide Assembly Members and one for the Constituency Assembly Members. 

A list of parties and independent candidates standing in the London-wide contest will follow.  

Fourteen London Assembly Members are also elected to represent London’s 14 Assembly Constituencies.

Nominations for the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections closed at 4pm on March 30. The Greater London Returning Officer is required by law to publish the list by 4pm on Thursday April 1.

London Elects will send an information booklet to each of London’s 6 million registered voters shortly, with a ‘mini manifesto’ from 17 of the Mayoral candidates, the full list of Assembly candidates and information about how to vote.  To include a mini manifesto in the booklet, candidates were required to pay a £10,000 fee set in law.

Important dates:  These dates apply to both the Mayor and the London Assembly.

Polling station voting:                    Thursday 6 May 2021 (polling stations open from 7am to 10pm)
Count commences:                         Friday 7 May (9am) and continues Saturday 8 May (8am)
If you are registered to vote, you should have received your poll card already.

The last day to register to vote in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections is 19 April 2021.

To vote by post, electors need to register as a postal voter by 5pm Tuesday the 20th of April.

For more information, please contact the London Elects media office.

London Elects Head of Media:

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall
[email protected]    
Follow us on Twitter @londonelects

Notes to editors

1.    A full list of candidates standing in the Mayoral contest, London-wide contest and each of the 14 constituency contests will be available at

2.    Candidate and party descriptions are given as on the nomination forms submitted by candidates. This is how they will appear on the ballot papers (along with party emblems). 

3.    The election itself will see nearly 3,900 polling stations set up across London on 6th May. The stations will be staffed by more than 12,000 people between 7am and 10pm. Another 2,000 staff will then be on hand to help with the count. 

4.    London Elects is the body responsible – under the direction of the Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO) – for delivering and encouraging participation in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections.